Friday is for Fun Stuff

On my way to Kentucky last month, I started to read Digital Fortress by Dan Brown. The first half of the book was actually very interesting to me. It was about the NSA developing a super secret decryption program the public wouldn’t know about. On my way home, I got through the second half, and it was the typical cookie cutter ending with a sick twist I wasn’t expecting, blah, blah, blah, happily ever after so not so exciting anymore. For a quick read, I would recommend it, but I found myself craving something different to read. I use to read a lot of Dean Koontz, and after a while, it seemed to be the same formula as well. (If someone is interested after my fascinating description (yes, I’m being sarcastic), email me your address to lkscherf(at)gmail(dot)com, and I’ll mail you my copy media mail. You don’t have to mail it back. If no one is interested, I’m selling it at our Relay For Life garage sale next week.)

Then Ron at Subtle Bluntness wrote about some zombie books he had read. I was curious about them, because I always have liked the supernatural (or would zombies fall under paranormal?) genre. So, I went to our local used bookstore, where all they had was Dean Koontz, Stephen King, a few John Saul, and some vampire books that appeared to be Twilight knockoffs. And I mentioned to a few people actually, that I was looking at the used book store for some books, and they said to me, “You know, they have these newfangled things called libraries….” So, I went to the library, and I checked out 4 books, put three books including one of the ones recommend by Ron on hold, and then went home, added two more books to the list and some movies. The library has changed a lot since 1994. I mean, the last time I was there, they still were using the old card catalog system. I kind of went nuts on stuff I wanted to check out, even though they also have a wish list option. I have a lot of reading in my future.

Well, while looking through the computer catalog, I clicked on the subject Zombies and one of the books to pop up was Pride and Prejudice and Zombies: The Classic Regency Romance – Now with Ultraviolent Zombie Mayhem!. It was toted as being by Jane Austin and Seth Grahame-Smith. I put a hold on the book for when it gets checked back in, and went home to and read the first chapter. It looked very interesting. I read the first chapter of Pride and Prejudice and was surprised by the similarity. Though, I must admit the former is more interesting to me.

After looking into this book a little more, I found where, incidentally, you can read the first three chapters of Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. I joined their Twitter feed. And through them, I found out I could win a copy of Pride and Prejudice and Zombies at Confessions of a Pagan Soccer Mom.  You only need to do a few things to enter, and I’m not going to tell you about them here. You  need to go over there. And if you aren’t interested in winning for yourself, maybe you want to enter and send the book to me? Or maybe the person who has the book check out will return it soon.  Either way, I need more chapters!

11 thoughts on “Friday is for Fun Stuff

  1. I know what you mean about authors getting formulaic. It gets annoying unless you happen to enjoy their formula in the first place.

    I’m not into zombies and couldn’t make it thru the first Twilight book (I think I’m the only one on the planet to actually admit that), but I hope you enjoy those books–there’s nothing like a good book, is there?

  2. Phinz – And there is nothing like a good book! You might enjoy the one I’m reading now. It’s called Perfume: A Story of a Murderer. Takes place in 18th Century France. Very interesting.

  3. Yeah, I’m not much into zombies and vampires, either. I haven’t read the Twilight books or seen the movie and I have no intention of doing so. I love to read, too, though. I’m more into the murder-mystery sort of thing. Brad and I share a love for John Sanford, so he is awesomely sending me the latest novel that he just read.

  4. I can’t read James Patterson anymore, for the very reasons you stated. I also had to give up (or maybe I’m just on a break from) John Sandford… and man, I loved me some John Sandford…

  5. Shelli – I really enjoyed the Anne Rice series. I especially liked The Vampire Lestat, which I recently bought to read again. I never got through the third book and kind of dropped them after that, though I want to finish Menoch the Devil. So, I figured I would try it.

    I remember you liked the Prey books, and I saw those there too, but not the first one. At some point, I plan to check those out as well. And yes, I probably will be renting from the library as opposed to borrowing from them. I wonder if it’s still $.10 a day?

  6. Shades – When Kiss the Girls came out, I had planned to read the book, and then someone (in an article I read) pointed out some innacurracies, and I never got around to it. I’ll have to look him up again.

  7. I picked up Pride and Prejudice and Zombies a few weeks ago and hope to read it soon. I have a few books ahead fo it I have to read first. I have this problem of buying too many books, faster tha I can read them. And you know me, I read fast!

    And I am always looking for a good book so any you wish to send my way, feel free. And I will read that Stephan King book you gave me soon, I promise.

    As for suggestions…you can check out my goodreads for some but right off the bat I can tell you to read Dean Kootnz’s book THe HUsband. FABULOUS! Also, if you like zombies, check out Stephen King’s Cell. Probably the best book he has written in a while. If you want more, let me know.

Leave a Reply

